Managing Shared Goals

In many ways, shared goals are as easy to manage as any other goal. This document will show you how to create a shared goal and how to manage its members.

Creating a Shared Goal

Quick Setup Tutorial

  1. Go to your team's Repeating Goals menu
  2. Click the Create New Goal button
  3. Define the goal
  4. Do not publish it as a challenge

From the team's menu, click on the Repeating Goals navigation item to open the respective dashboard. Next, you need to click the Create New Goal button.

A shared goal is set up just like a regular goal. Read our Understanding Goalify Goals documentation to learn more about creating a goal.

When you have finished defining your shared goal, you need to save it. Upon saving the goal, you will be asked whether or not you would like to publish this shared goal as a challenge. Choose the Maybe later option to finish the creation of the shared goal.

Adjusting an Existing Shared Goal

Quick Setup Tutorial

  1. Go to your team's Repeating Goals menu
  2. Open the shared goal
  3. Switch to the setup tab

From the team's menu, click on the Repeating Goals navigation item to open the respective dashboard. Next, you need to open the shared goal you would like to adjust by clicking on its name in the Goal list.

From the shared goal's dashboard click the Goal Setup menu item. Since a shared goal is very similar to regular goal, you can learn more about the basic settings by reading our adjusting an existing goal documentation.

Shared Goals

Within the Shared Goal section you can define the ranking type. Additionally, you can also choose to convert the shared goal into a challenge.

Choosing a Ranking Type

A more competitive ranking style calculates the performance based on a broader range of past periods. Hence, members need to perform more consistently for a longer period of time to stay at the top of the ranking.

These are the available ranking types for shared goals:

Relaxed

Rankings are based on the most recent achievements, and it takes less time to recover from failed targets.

Normal

Rankings are based on a broader rage of past achievements, and it takes a bit more time to recover from failed targets.

Competitive

Rankings are based on the average achievement over an extended period of time, and it takes more time to recover from failed targets.

All-time

Rankings are based on the overall achievements for the full duration of the challenge.

Present-only

Rankings are based on the achievements of the current period only.

Unranked

Members are not ranked by their achievements and everyone is assigned first place.

Goal Setup

You can only change some properties of an already existing shared goal:

  • Name
  • Description
  • Unit
  • End date

Goal Target

You can make changes to the current target as well as future targets. You can also create new targets for future periods.

Adding Clients to a Shared Goal

Quick Setup Tutorial

  1. Go to your team's Repeating Goals menu
  2. Open the shared goal
  3. Click the Add Members button
  4. Add clients from the list

From the team's menu click on the Repeating Goals navigation item to open the respective dashboard. Next, you need to open the shared goal that you would like to add members to by clicking on its name.

This will open the shared goal's dashboard, and you will find all current members in the Members section.

To add a client from your client list, use the Add Members button. You can select one or many clients from the list and add them all at once. You can also use the search bar to filter clients by name or by tags. You can learn more about using tags to organize your client list by reading our organizing clients using tags documentation.

Removing Members from a Shared Goal

Quick Setup Tutorial

  1. Go to your team's Repeating Goals menu
  2. Open the shared goal
  3. Select the members you would like to remove
  4. Click the Remove button

From the team's menu, click on the Repeating Goals navigation item and select the shared goal from the list.

You will find all current members in the Members section. Select all of the members that you would like to remove from the shared goal and click the red Delete button.

Removing Members

If you remove a member from a shared goal, you need to decide what happens to the goal that he or she was working on. You can choose to detach so that it's no longer a shared goal, or you can delete the goal for that participant. If you choose to keep the goal for the client, you will also retain access to it as a coach.

Copying a Shared Goal

Quick Setup Tutorial

  1. Go to your team's Repeating Goals menu
  2. Click the ⋮ button next to the shared goal's name
  3. Choose the Copy to…

To copy or duplicate a shared goal, switch to the Repeating Goals menu. Choose the shared goal you want to copy and click the option ⋮ button to the left of the name. Select the Copy to… option to continue.

Copying to another Team

Coaches with access to multiple teams which belong to the same owner account, can copy shared goals from one team to another. Coaches with Team manager permissions can copy shared goals from any team to any team he/she has access to.

Deleting a Shared Goal

Quick Setup Tutorial

  1. Go to your team's Repeating Goals menu
  2. Open the shared goal
  3. Remove all members
  4. Choose the Delete Goal option from the Actions button

To delete a shared goal, switch to the Repeating Goals menu of your team. Open the shared goal you would like to delete, by clicking on its name.

You need to remove all client's befor you can delete a shared goal. You will find all current members in the Members section. Select all members and click the red Delete button.

From the goal's man Actions button, choose the Delete Goal option. You will have to confirm that you really want to delete the shared goal, as this action cannot be reversed.

Deleting a Shared Goal

If you delete a shared goal, you and all current members will lose access to the shared goal's data and its connected goals. If you want clients to keep their individual goals, remove them from the shared goal before deleting it.